Pandaboard

Hi

I’m a new user with little Linux experience and I recently bought a used Pandaboard A2.
I was looking to try to get an OS running because I didn’t know if the board worked and I got the board working with a pre-built image that I downloaded from Larry Lisky’s website. The image is Ubuntu 14.04 and it booted up and worked, however there wasn’t much functionality, much of the manual installation process that Larry documents would need to be implemented on the working image and also the image is on a 4GB root partition which made it unable to upgrade to Ubuntu 16.04.
I saw the wiki by Robert Nelson to install Ubuntu 18.04 and started to follow the procedure but I only got as far as the export command to transfer the decompressed gnu cross compiler from the ufs-mount ~$ prompt.
I have a working install of Ubuntu 18.04 server and the command : export CC=‘pwd’ etc. doesn’t have any output and the subsequent command doesn’t work.
I’m a Linux noob and I found out that ‘pwd’ is print working directory, command that works on my server install, but as I’m unable to get the decompressed cross compiler image exported, I’m stuck and would appreciate some help, please!

@sP1d3r,

export CC=`pwd`

Should not have any output, it’s just setting the variable CC. But I’m a little worried, in your question, you crossed your ` (backquote/backtick) with ’ (apostrophe). On the us keyboard it’s on the upper left under the esc key. So double check, that you following the directions as written. (or this forum didn’t allow you do actually show what you typed…)

export CC=`pwd`/gcc-linaro-6.5.0-2018.12-x86_64_arm-linux-gnueabihf/bin/arm-linux-gnueabihf-

https://www.digikey.com/eewiki/display/linuxonarm/PandaBoard#PandaBoard-ARMCrossCompiler:GCC

PS, you can also just copy and paste the lines from the wiki into your terminal…

Regards,

Thank you for your quick response, I’d made the mistake that you noticed.