Power over Ethernet Standards and Capability

Power over Ethernet (PoE) can enable fast installation and deployment to provide maximum reliability for today’s enterprise network. PoE can be broken down into 4 main PoE types - Type 1, Type 2, Type 3 and Type 4, as per the comparison table presented below.

Capability PoE Type 1 PoE Type 2 PoE Type 3 PoE Type 4
Also known as PoE, 2-pair PoE PoE+,PoE Plus 4-pair PoE, 4P PoE, PoE++, UPOE higher power PoE, PoE+++, UPOE+
Standard IEEE802.3af IEEE802.3at IEEE802.3bt IEEE802.3bt
PSE minimum Vout 44V 50V 50V 52V
PSE Polarity Switch: Flexibility; Midspan: Fixed Switch: Flexibility; Midspan: Fixed Flexibility Fixed
Power Delivery over 4 pairs No No Class 0-4: Optional; Class 5-8: Mandatory Mandatory
Extended Power No No Yes Yes
Low Minimum Power Signature (MPS) No No Yes Yes
PSE Maximum Pout 15.4W 30W 60W 90 - 99W**
PD Maximum Input Power 13W 25.5W 51W 68.3 - 99W**

PSE: Power Sourcing Equipment
PD: Powered Device
** Extended capability depends on cable quality, cable length and PSE output voltage and the ability to support Auto Calss