Receiving single-lane MIPI CSI data

Hi all, I’m very new to working with MIPI CSI2. I’ve searched around for the answer to this, but haven’t been able to get far without access to MIPI specifications — apologies if these turn out to be very basic questions.

I’m designing for an Omnivision image sensor. I can’t share the datasheet or specific details, unfortunately, since it’s confidential with Omnivision.

The chip uses a single-lane MIPI data output. The D-PHY connector on the Raspberry Pi is for 2-lane MIPI data transfer.

Can I simply connect the sensor data output to one lane of the Raspberry Pi, leaving the other Pi lane disconnected? And would doing so require any special drivers? Or alternatively, would I need to use some kind of MIPI receiver/decoder to convert to a different protocol that the microcontroller can receive?

Further, are MIPI voltage levels standardized? The chip I’m using has a 1.5 V MIPI voltage supply.

I’m hoping to use an FSA641 MIPI bridge (unless anyone has a better suggestion for receiving data from multiple cameras). A diagram from the bridge datasheet would seem to indicate that the single-lane and dual-lane are compatible in this direction, but this may be misleading.

Thank you in advance for the help!

Hello anuj,

I’ll preface this by saying I’m also fairly new to MIPI and don’t have access to the spec, but I think I can provide some insight.

It should be fine to leave one of the lanes disconnected/idle, but I suspect you will need to adjust the software to accommodate. The number of lanes is just how many bytes are received at a time, so the Pi needs to know to expect one byte instead of two per transaction. I would guess doing this at the driver level, if you’re able, would be the most efficient. Alternatively, you might be able to filter out the final result at the application level because you know that every other byte (the one from the disconnected lane) is dummy data.