SIMD Instructions for NEON in C/C++

Hello,

I am new to using NEON on the BBB but in this case, it is the BBGW. I am trying to interweave a non-conforming armel lib. to Debian, which should probably not be carried at all by Debian, for my BBGW to instruct the NEON on it to perform some principle math.

Seth

P.S. The compiler needed to handle this native compilation is arm-linux-none-gnueabi and this is exact, i.e. not arm-linux-none-gnueabihf.

If you find a way to compile the compiler, please do tell me. I would like to start w/ this venture as soon as I get around to it. I tried adding the ftp server in /etc/apt/sources.list but to no avail. I tried to update/upgrade my debian distro afterwards and this did not provide me the right to handle the install from Debian by way of apt.

Hi @silver2row , which version of Debian are you currently running? Depending on version, there are a couple different ways to install the “softfp” compiler…

If your stuck using that NEON library, there’s nothing stopping you from using Debian’s armel vs armhf either…

PS, what issues are you actually having when running the NEON application? that also shouldn’t be an issue to run as-is…

Regards,

1 Like

@RobertCNelson ,

Unless something has changed in time, the errors should not be showing. Please remember I am new to the syntax of the NEON unit on the BBB or other beagleboard.org family of boards w/ the am335x.

Hello…I am receiving an odd error about this much of an idea:

4.19.94-ti-r68 and BeagleBoard.org Debian Buster IoT Image 2020-04-06

The below error(s) are from plain, ole gcc b/c I cannot install gnueabi by any method I have found so far.

firstNeon.c: In function ‘fir_neon’:
firstNeon.c:16:9: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘vldl_s16’; did you mean ‘vld4_s16’? [-Wimplicit-function-declaration]
    si = vldl_s16(s+i+j);
         ^~~~~~~~
         vld4_s16
firstNeon.c:16:7: error: incompatible types when assigning to type ‘int16x4_t’ from type ‘int’