Capacitor capacitance increase

I’ve been doing research into finding a suitable replacement for the capacitors for my original xbox (UHM0J332MPD) the site says there is a 6.3ZLH3300MEFC10X23, but according to the datasheet that is not a size made in that series. This series seems to line up with the original requirements, is there any harm in upping the capacitance from 3300 to 3900? I am new to this all together and have done lots of research but could use a little more professional guidance

Welcome to the forum.

It is almost always OK to increase the capacitance and/or voltage value of electrolytic capacitors. Most circuits would work way better with values 1000 times higher for both values.

Even in the rare circumstances, maybe one in a million circuit designs, where the higher values make the system not work as intended, no harm is done to the circuit by trying higher values.

Of course, I’m sure at least some or the billions of circuit designs with electrolytic capacitors that have been made in the past century would have a problem. But that’s like worrying about getting struck by lightning when out walking on a sunny January day in New England. :wink:

2 Likes

I appreciate that, just don’t want to fry it, did alot of research into, lead spacing, impedance, size and ripple current trying to find a suitable replacement. Well in that case, I think that I will try either the 3900 or the 4700 because that one actually exceeds the rated ripple current of the oem parts and an upgrade would be nice. I just have to make sure the slight increase in outer diameter will still fit on the board.

1 Like

Greetings,