Solder choice questions from beginner

I am a hobbyist looking to get started with soldering. My first project will be replacing a defective switch on a mechanical keyboard. I’m in the process of researching equipment for my setup and am trying to choose a solder. Based on my research I think I need to buy solder with the following specs:

• RMA flux
  • 63/37 Sn/Pb
  • 0.020" diameter

When putting those filters into Digi-Key I obtain the following results:

Are those spools of solder really what I should buy? I did a double-take at the price. Is that how much a spool of solder appropriate for a beginner typically costs, or I did I pick some option that selected a “premium”, “professional grade”, etc. product, or too large of a roll? 1 lb of solder seems like it would last a hobbyist forever but maybe that’s the standard size. I also doubt I would go through a pound of solder before it expires and would hate to have to buy another roll at that price just to complete my next project that only requires a tiny bit.

Hello,

Thank you for contacting the Technical Forum. Solder has gotten a lot more expansive. I agree. One of those rolls would last a long time. I did another search. I went with a similar 63/37. This is Rosin activated. These are smaller rolls , but quite a bit cheaper. Here is the link I found : https://www.digikey.com/short/n3frrtmn . These options would get you started and see if you even like soldering. It would be nice to know before you invest a whole lot of money into your hobby.

A pound of solder is basically a lifetime supply for hobby purposes. While more costly by weight, the ounce-scale packages give opportunity to try different products at a more approachable cost. Note that thicker solders tend to kink, tangle, and break less easily than the fine stuff.