Voltage from a Piezoelectric Film Sensor

A quick question from a newbie…

I’m trying to measure force using a piezo film sensor (https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/te-connectivity-measurement-specialties/1-1002910-0/356-1134-ND/2704828)

When I connect each of the two leads to a voltmeter and press on the material, I would expect to see some level of voltage as an output, but I see absolutely nothing. I have checked the function of the voltmeter (measured the voltage from an AA battery) and it seems to be working.

Am I missing something here? I’m a Chemical Engineer and software guy, but know very little about electronics.

Thanks in advance,

Pete

@pedavison

Do you just have the sensor or do you have this hooked up in a circuit. One thing many people miss when they first work with a piezo sensor is that you will have an AC voltage coming off the sensor and not a DC. You also want to have a resistor in the circuit. Per the datasheet you need a min of 1 Mohm though preference is 10 Mohm. You are also looking at a frequency that can be hard to catch depending on the voltmeter. It may be easier to see with an Oscope.
Let me know if this helps or if you have further questions.
-Robert

Another thing to keep in mind is that pieozelectric sensors detect changes in force, not necessarily constant force. If you press on the sensor and keep pressing, applying steady constant pressure, the sensor would pick up the original force of the push as you’re deforming the sensor, but it wouldn’t necessarily properly detect the continuous pressure applied afterwards to hold the sensor in its deformed state.