Wiring a DPDT switch to act like a SP3T

Here is a simple way to wire a DPDT switch that can act like a SP3T. This will be a ON-ON-ON switch function style.
The easiest is to put a jumper from Pin 5 to Pin 3.

I studied this for a while but it doesn’t look like an ON-OFF-ON DPDT switch. Please help me understand how this works. Thanks.

Hello,
This Switch is a DPDT style switch. The illustration is to show how to use it as a SP3T switch. This is set up to be a ON-ON-ON style SP3T.
The jumper wire is put in there to connect the two poles together. Without the jumper it would be a DPDT switch.

There are other circuit styles for the DPDT switch depending on what is required.
Yes it could be different for a ON-OFF-ON DPDT style switch. The best thing is to look at the switch and check out the wiring diagram for it.
That will give the best description on how to correctly wire the switch.

I hope this will help
Any questions Please let me know.
Paul.

All the DPDT switches that I have seen have have 2 poles and 2 throws with off in the center. The two poles are independent. When the “toggle” is in the center neither of the four outer pins are connected to either of the commons The diagram you have drawn shows the lever in the center position acting on the top of pole 1 and the bottom of pole 2 which is not how an ON-OFF-ON DPDT switch works, so that conversion does not make sense since the base switch you are using is already an ON-ON-ON switch.

Can you point me to the wiring diagram for the switch shown.

However, if Digikey has the switch shown in your diagram in toggle, right angle PCB mounting format I would like to purchase some. SP3T toggle switches seem to be very rare.

Hello,
The example is for a ON-ON-ON style. It is Not for a ON-OFF-ON style.
Yes the DPDT ON-OFF-ON will have the center as OFF.
Yes the SP3T switches are rare. The manufacturers will use the DPDT and use a jumper to make it SP3T