Xbee only transmits data every 5 seconds

Sorry if this post isn’t in the right place.

I am trying to configure two Xbee S2C’s to communicate. I am sending data through UART into the DIN pin on the coordinator, and trying to receive data through the DOUT pin on the router.

For some reason, the data only seems to come through once every 5 seconds. The DOUT pin is high for 5 seconds, and then a bunch of the uart signals get sent through at once. The signals seem to come through in bunches of 15, then a short pause, then 15 more. It seems around three to six of these 15-bunches of uart signals comes through every 5 seconds.

I am not sure what could be causing this, but I am fairly new to Xbees. I am running them in ZIGBEE TH Reg version 4061 in AT mode. I disabled CTS and RTS, and I set the RO Packetization Timeout to 0.

If anyone could help me solve this problem to get a continuous stream of data sent through the Xbees it would be greatly appreciated!

Ben

Hi @Lassley, this sounds like the XBee’s are still in Broadcast mode:

https://www.digi.com/resources/documentation/Digidocs/90001942-13/Default.htm#concepts/c_transmission_methods_zigbee.htm%3FTocPath%3DWireless%20data%20transmission|_____1

How many devices are you planning to have in your network? In this example, you mention 2, in that case, i’d set [Destination Address High:] and [Destination Address Low:] bits to match your Coordinator XBee.

Regards,

Hi @Lassley , Do you have one device set as coordinator and the other as router? Digi has an example “Basic XBee ZB Zigbee (Series 2) Chat” at link https://www.digi.com/resources/examples-guides/basic-xbee-zb-zigbee-(series-2)-chat
The modules in this example are older but similar to the S2C modules you have but conceptually the same setup would apply.

Thank you for your response. I tried adjusting the settings as you suggested, but I still seem to be doing something wrong. Here are the settings for each Xbee:

Coordinator:
PAN ID = 5135