Basic information about transformers

Hello,

I am not an expert of electronics but I am trying to build a device.
I need a basic information: if I use a transformer, such, for example, this one: AMEOF10-05SL277NZ whose technical features state it can supply a maximum output current of 2.0 Amps (and so consequently a maximum power of 10W, as it outputs 5 V), does it mean that whatever circuit I make, that keeps current from it, will never (if there are no accidents or troubles) have an overall current of 2.0 Amps?
For example, if I make a circuit with two usb ports in parallel that are feeded by the transformer, will the total current be never over 2.0 Amps? What happens if I connect to the 2 USB ports 2 devices that could work each up to 2.0 Amps? For example if I connect two smartphone that can be recharged either with 1.0 Amp or 2.0 Amps. Will one of the two smartphones not be recharged or will they be both recharged at 1.0 Amp each (let’s consider that the 2 smartphones are the same model so the have the same resistance)?
Or is there the possibility the circuit goes to an overcurrent (more than 2.0 Amps) situation?
Thank you very much! Federico

@fede

The “AMEOF10-05SL277NZ” would be able to safely supply up-to 2A.
If more is drawn it can damage the transformer.
In the example you gave I would recommend only having 1 phone connected at a time to insure that the transformer does not see more than the 2A draw max.

To help find more information be aware that what you are looking at is NOT a transformer.

You are working with an AC input, DC output, power supply.

Hi fede,

Nathan and Paul are correct. These are power supplies rather than transformers.