DigiKey website says I'm a robot

Hi,

I’m a hobbyist who makes extensive use of DigiKey when designing electronics. You have the best parametric search. As a result, I end up buying almost all my parts from you.

Your main digikey.co.uk website has now decided that I am a robot, and is denying me access.

I get the page titled “At DigiKey, we’re big fans of Robots”, and there’s a “PRESS & HOLD” button. Every time I click it, it just goes back to the same page and tells me to try again.

If it helps, it says: “Reference ID: #3b5b44c0-241e-11ee-9bc1-8b2ccdcc389c”. Though this is not the first time I’ve seen it.

I have no idea how that button is supposed to work. Is there some magic I need to do? Does it assume that everyone has poor mouse control and/or a touchscreen, so me with my mouse that moves straight to the button and click it obviously has to be a robot, I can’t just be competent? Whatever it is, I’ve never actually managed to be recognised as human. It is also incredibly frustrating and feels like I’m being lied to, when the text says it’s going to verify me as a human and just doesn’t. There’s also no way to contact support from that error page.

Fundamentally, that Captcha does not work. Please can you use get rid of it, or at least use ReCaptcha since that is actually solvable by humans?

If you’ve fallen for a snake-oil salesman trying to tell you that their Captcha is the best at keeping out robots, please consider whether it’s actually just the best at keeping out some humans and giving them no way to contact support. Us excluded humans get counted as “robots” in the stats they’re giving you…

I’m clearly not going to give you any business while I can’t get to the site.

1 Like

Hello @jon7

Sorry you are having issues on the site. I have reached out for some support to try to get an answer. Either someone from that team or myself will be reaching out.
-Robert