Looking for Needed Components for a Project

Hi Y’all,

I’m very new to electronics and this is going to be a first. I work in a lab and one of our experiments do involve getting these motors running. I do want to record voltage, amps, and collect motor data as part of our data analysis to understand performance over time.

We have 3 DC Gear Motors that we got as part of a recent purchase with 1.2A current and 12V specs. Ideally we want to have these motors controlled separately, reversible (I’m assuming we have to switch the polarity for these motors), and then either controlled manually or connected to a computer. I was hoping to look into something off the shelf and plug and play, but I am also pretty clueless as to what other parts we need. Some advice and guidance on how to do this would be extremely beneficial.

Thanks!

Greetings,

It would be helpful if you could be more specific about your goals and objectives; it sounds as if you’re trying to characterize performance/behavior of these devices, and if that’s the case you’d want to be very specific indeed about what you’re going to measure and how. If you’re trying build an animatronic frog or something, that’s rather a different story.

Assuming these are brushed DC motors, they’re pretty simple; speed/direction is to a first approximation proportional to magnitude/sign of applied voltage, and current to load torque. A person can make that happen in many different ways, but some would prove more convenient than others depending on what you’re trying to achieve.

Hi Rick, sorry I got to this late.

We’re trying to study the wear of certain devices under certain extreme conditions (temperature, abrasion, vacuum), and only one motor will be used to test that, the others are simply just going to help us provide an additional degree of freedom. It may be something odd to need, but it’s a bit of a long term goal.