Need help for my Capstone

Hello,
This might come across as a strange message, but I am a college student in Maine doing my final Capstone project for my computer science degree, and I was hoping that you guys might be able to help me with some rough estimates on two custom control boards that I had an idea for. Basically, a decent amount of the research paper is just a proof of concept for a device that I had an idea for, but the chair of the computer science department wanted me to reach out and see if I could get numbers and estimates to really flesh out the paper. The first board would a data controller with 3x USB 3.1 ports and a USB C port that would connect to a second daughter board that held a NVME controller capable of holding the NVME drive in stand-by power and take as little power as possible. So that the main controller board would be run off of a wall plug, but when unplugged and the main data transfer board is shut down, would allow for the NVME board to be held in stand-by power from a large lithium-ion cell, so that it could be held in a hibernation state, but not be unpowered. I apologize I know this is a weird request, thank you so much for your time and consideration.

Hi digitalmines,

Welcome to the Tech Forum.

I’m no expert in this area, so I may not have a grasp on the details of this topic, but my first question for you is, why would you want to do this? What is the value of keeping the NVMe board in a “hibernate” state rather than just turning it off?