PCB Milling Tips

Has anyone been tired of having messy wires all over the place with perforated breadboards or non-solder breadboards? Has anyone wanted to make a design smaller and more professional? This post will focus on general tips for PCB milling. I used the Bantam desktop miller for my project, so I will be referencing the hardware and software in this post. For reference, the milling machine is Digi-Key part number 1932-1000-ND (manufacturer’s part number OM1002). The device comes with several tool options along with some development boards for starters and there is plenty of support for troubleshooting.

Since I am new to PCB milling, I decided to make a simple Audio Visualizer that works with an Arduino. There were a few mishaps when trying to mill my board, consider the following suggestions.

1. Avoid making pads for direct wires that use solid copper or try to avoid soldering wires directly to the PCB in general.
  2. Even though one can technically solder directly to the pads using wires, I would advise against this. Pads end up pretty small in the first place, so soldering doesn’t provide a very strong bond to the copper board’s surface for wires. I found this often caused wires to pull out way too easily. It would actually be better to have stranded copper wires for this type of soldering, but I’d still recommend using wire to board headers or board to board headers to make soldering easier.

3. If possible, try to use larger solder pads and aim for slightly bigger traces.