Voltage Divider Resistor Selection Help

Hello all,

I am a high school student who is trying to measure the voltage of a DC circuit. This circuit will run between 30v and 50v but I need to measure the voltage with an Arduino with a maximum voltage measurement of 5v. My solution to this is a voltage divider to bring the voltage down to a safe level for the Arduino to read. Using a voltage divider calculator I decided I needed a 1st resistor value of 1500ohms and a 2nd resistor value of 100ohms. However when deciding what resistors I need to purchase I was wondering what kind of wattage these resistors would be encountering and at 50v the 100ohm resistor would have 25w flowing across it. Am I correct with these calculations? Do I really need such a high wattage resistor?

Thanks

Hello 2098489,

Please allow me to address several points in your question:

Voltage divider

The governing equation in your application is the voltage divider rule:

V_{Out} = V_{in}\dfrac{R_2}{R_1 + R_2}

You have selected 1.5 kΩ for R1 and 100 Ω for R2. With a presumed Arduino running using the default rail (5 VDC) as the voltage reference for the Analog To Digital Converter (ADC):

5 = V_{in}\dfrac{100}{100 + 1500}

Solving for V_{in} yields approximately 80 VDC. Your calculations are reasonable but could be improved as we will explore later in this note.

Power Dissipation

We can use Ohm’s Law to determine the power dissipation.

R_{total} =R_1 + R_2 = 1500 + 100 = 1600\ \Omega

Current = \dfrac{Voltage}{Resistance} = \dfrac{80}{1600} = 0.05\ A

Power = Current \ x \ Voltage = 0.05 * 80 = 4 \ W

Consequently, you will be able to use 1/4 W resistors. Through-hole resistors of this size are reasonably easy to work with. However, you may want to use 1/2 W resistors as they are slightly larger and easier to read.

This is unnecessarily high dissipation. Let’s shift all values up by a factor of 10 and recalculate.

R_{total} =R_1 + R_2 = 15000 + 1000 = 16,000\ \Omega