BNO055

Hello, I am a PhD student in Civil Engineering and wants to use BNO055 by Bosch Sensortec for slope movement detection. However, I am not sure whether this sensor is already programmed or needs to be programmed. If already programmed then what are the outputs and sampling frequency? I am interested in Linear acceleration, Gravity acceleration and angular velocity in all three directions. Any one please help…

Hello Hassankhan,

Welcome to DigiKey tech forum community.

Looks like BNO55 has some programmable features yes, for its accelerometer and gyroscope. It also does have a magnetometer as well. So it can measure linear and gravity acceleration and angular velocity it seems.
There is an in depth data sheet you could review for more detail on it located in below link:
BNO055 Datasheet (bosch-sensortec.com)

I recommend you go through that thoroughly to see if it will do what you need it to do in your intended application.

Hope that helps.

1 Like

Hello hassankhan,

May I recommend you start with this product:

You will find that Adafruit provides excellent support. For example, if you explore this page, you will find an introduction to the device as well as links to a GitHub library:

As to your question about programming; maybe. Know that most sensors are configured with general power-on settings. For many applications this is all we need. This may or may not be what you need for your application. Either way, the GitHub libraries should get you started.

Recommend you find an electrical student at your school. At this point, the seniors are old hats at this type of configuration.

It may cost you a pizza.

Best Wishes,

APDahlen