Charging Lithium Ion Battery with 3.3V

I am trying to use a piezoelectric element to charge a li-ion battery. Basically my set-up so far is the following:

My piezoelectric element is connected to a LTC3588-1 module (1568-1038-ND‎) which outputs a 3.3V. I am trying to charge a single cell li-ion battery that requires 4.2V for charging. I am missing a component that takes the 3.3V output and converts in into a 4.2V for battery charging. Note the li-ion battery capacity will be pretty small, between 50 and 150 mah.

I searched all over and I cannot find components that work.

Ps. I am in my last year of mechanical engineering, I am not too familiar with electrical engineering.

Thank you

Charging a Lithium battery can be a bit of a challenge to start. Do you know your Voltage and Current ratings on your piezoelectric element?

I am not sure you will be able to get a solution that will put out a straight 4.2V. I know Adafruit has a board that will charge 4.2V, however it takes an input of 3.75-6V so you would need to boost your voltage out of the piezo element. 1528-1833-ND

You might be able to use just the chip which is MCP73831T-2ATI/OTCT-ND , however again you will need to boost voltage and make sure you have enough current out of you element to support the charging as there will be loses.

-Robert

Hi Robert,

Thank you for your response. I cannot use a usb power. Basically, my issue comes after converting the piezoelectric element.

The piezo generates between 2-10V which is fed through the LTC3588 module which converts the AC generated voltage to 3.3V DC.

So I’d need a component that takes the 3.3V to be converted to a 4.2V DC.

-Nick

I understand that you do not have a usb. That board also has inputs to take a voltage ranging from 3.75 to 6VDC. The biggest question is what is the current being put out of your generator and will it support the charging needs of the battery.