Loading a hex program using PICkit 3 and MPLABX-v5.52

I am a newbie. I need to discover how to load a hex program on a Microchip 18F45K80-I/PT (E3) 16151HY using a PICkit 3 (ser BUR184871703) and MPLABX-v5.52.

To do the HEX i believe you have to use the IPE which is loaded with the MPLABX.

Here is a link to the page.
https://www.microchip.com/mplab/mplab-integrated-programming-environment

MPLAB IPE V3.35 is not available from MC any longer. I cant find it in their archives.

This is what was originally used to program the hex file onto the chip.

The version of IPE should not matter. The hex file will stay constant. IPE should be installed with MPLAB X v5.52, and that should work fine for uploading the hex file to the PIC18.

Ok. Thank you! I will give it a go and get back to you.

One other question, does the PICkit 3 need to be recognized by the MPLAB X v5.52 before I start this?

I have attempted programming. I get a CAUTION notice that says:

"Check the device selected in MPLAB IDE (PIC18F45K80) is the same one that physically attached to the debug tool. Selecting a 5V device when a 3.3V device is connected can result in damage to the device when the debugger checks the device ID. Do you wish to continue?

Note: If you would like to program this device using a low voltage programming, select CANCEL on this dialog. Then go to the PICkit 3 node of the project properties and check the Enable Low Voltage Programming check box of the Program Options Options Category pane (low voltage programming is not valid for debugging operations)."

I went to the node and changed it to ‘low voltage programming’ but with no affect. I changed the voltage to 3V and no affect. I changed both with no affect.

Here is what the output stated after the attempts:

"*****************************************************

Connecting to MPLAB PICkit 3…

Currently loaded firmware on PICkit 3
Firmware Suite Version…01.32.09 *
Firmware type…dsPIC33F/24F/24H