Looking for a motor to rotate a baby mobile

Hello,

I would like to build a rotating mobile for my newborn, that can be controlled via a pressure sensor under her pillow (please see the picture below). For rotating the mobile I would need a simple, lightweight motor where I can set the speed in a range of around 5 rpm. Ideally I am thinking of something that can be controlled simply by voltage, without using more advanced approaches like PWM. Can someone suggest me what motor to use here?

I was looking for instance at this one here, but I’m not sure whether it can be slowed down to the rpm I’m aiming at: https://www.digikey.pt/en/products/detail/dfrobot/FIT0495-A/7087178

Or this one here: https://www.digikey.pt/en/products/detail/sparkfun-electronics/ROB-12367/5768358

But maybe I’m also running in the wrong direction… I’m relatively new to electronics, so sorry for my potential naivity :slight_smile: So any help would be very much appreciated!

Cheers,
Florian

Hello @gfmintgen,

When building you really have the options on how you want to slow it down. Personally, when things break I like to tear them down and find out and I took apart an old baby mobile that just had a small hobby-type DC motor in it. It was also geared down. I can’t remember the circuitry that was involved however I do know the one I had did have a small microcontroller and multiple speeds so I believe they were using both PWM and gearing to enable the slow speed on such a small motor. Currently, I am not aware of any small motor options that you could get 5rpm with just a voltage adjustment. I would also be concerned if you could get them to spin at such a low rpm if they would have the torque to spin your mobile.

-Robert

Hi @Robert_Fay,