Stompbox

Hi,
Im planning to build a footswitch for a digitech product clone. It requires momentary/on switches. Any recommendations?

Take a look here.
https://forum.digikey.com/t/stomp-box-switches-parts/335

Thanks so much for your prompt response. Is there a specific item you’d recommend? I’m far from expert in these matters…

cheers,

Iain F

Hello @Iainfisher,

Sorry I am also not an expert on stompboxes myself. The key for this will be determining what function you are looking for in the switch. Is there a specific box you are trying to replicate. You may be able to tell from the specifications what the switch functions are.
-Robert

It’s for the digitech fs3x. I understand that I need a momentary/on switch that toggles functions on a drum/bass stomp box. Hope this helps!

Cheers!

Hi Iainfisher,

After poking around a little on Google (I searched for images using the search terms “digitech fs3x footswitch schematic”, I found a few different schematics which all show that the switch you need is normally open and makes a connection (shorts internal contacts together) only when the button is pressed. As soon as it is released, the switch opens again (this is called “momentary” action).

This can be accomplished with either a Single Pole Single Throw (SPST) or Single Pole Double Throw (SPDT) switch. The SPST switch has only two contacts which are either open or closed, while the SPDT has three contacts, and one or the other of the two side contacts are connected to the center contact, depending on whether the button is pressed or not. We do not carry SPST stomp box switches, but an SPDT will work just as well as long as you connect it correctly. I would recommend the following switch:

P/N EG5495-ND image

It has three solder lugs on the bottom and its internal schematic looks like this: